• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

France: 15 Days w/Mom

TatertotsMom

I normally do not have travelers block, but planning this trip with my mom has given me just that. In 2019, I took my mom to Italy (her first trip int'l) and now am planning a 2-week Sept or Oct trip this year to France. My dad and sister both have multiple sclerosis and my mom has been unable to experience a lot of travel. Being able to take her, even if just to escape some of what is hard for her to witness with my dad and sister as they progress, on a trip is a gift. She is 70, but very mobile.

I'm in the beginning stages of selecting the general itinerary and trying to figure out if we should fly into and out of Paris as our best option or flying open jaw into Paris and out of another French airport to maximize our time; knowing she likely will not return again.

I was in France in the late 90s, but feel like this is my first time as well. I want to focus more so on her interests, as for me, my joy will come in seeing her experience all these new things for the first time; luckily, aside from outdoor activities, our interests align for the most part. She loves architecture, art, food, wine, charming towns. Her interests are not as much into hiking, beaches or the outdoors (simply because that has not been her lifestyle due to my dad's illness for so long). I definitely don't want to go to fast and wear her out.

I drove in Italy, so am open to driving and/or training this trip. I really want this to be a memorable trip for her and am simply stumped on how to build the itinerary.

Thank you for guiding me to any itinerary posted here, or elsewhere, that you have enjoyed and/or heping answer the question if flying into and out of 2 different airports was optimal (cost of the airline ticket is not important as we will be flying on points). Again, thank you for advice on helping with this.