• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Itinerary suggestion for one week after Puglia

mismirr

10+ Posts
Hi, I'll be on a one-week tour in Puglia this October. After that, I then plan to spend 5-7 days in one area nearby (thinking Sorrento or Ravella?) I'll be alone without a car, and assume I'll be taking some day tours (Amalfi, etc) but would like to be somewhere easy to explore, go have dinner, etc, by foot. Any suggestions? I've spent a lot of time in the north but this is my first time in the south!

It could be a long and tiring transfer from Puglia to Amalfi Coast, but have a play around with route options in Google maps and perhaps tweak the Puglia plans to make for a shorter transfer e.g. perhaps ending in Foggia. Big decision is typically whether the come in via Napoli direction (e.g. Caserta) or Salerno direction. We find the latter less stressful, but if staying in sorrento, then Napoli direction makes most sense, as you can do it all by train (Salerno would end with the frequent coastal SITA bus).

A few thoughts:

- We noticed a significant difference in culture between North and South. I'd never say one is better than the other (vive la difference and all that), but that will be one aspect that you can observe at you leisure in Puglia especially, but also to a degree on the amalfi coast. In short, the North a bit more formal / the South a bit more intimate. It's great to reflect on the differences after you've experienced them.

- October a super time to hit both areas, though if you get a cooler or even cold day, you may notice they're slow to put the heating on. In general it's a super time of year to be active in exploring, and you'll get some warm days, but rarely anything hot, plus a little, but rarely a lot of rain.