• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Question about bank transfer

PokeyMindy

100+ Posts
I've found a great apartment with all excellent reviews in Siena https://www.vrbo.com/613006#rates

the owner requires a 30% bank transfer for a deposit. I've never done this before and I'm a tad hesitant. I would imagine that because she has so many great reviews that it's all on the up and up. I'm just not sure how it works. Wish she took PayPal or Visa!

From her listing:
30% bank transfer in advance within 3 days of the booking confirmation date. If booking cancellation is done 60 days before the arrival date, this amount will be refunded apart from bank costs for the owner. If cancellation is done less than 60 days before arrival time, the amount won't be refunded.

70% only cash at arrival time.

Thank you in advance for any advice or reassurance.

Mindy

When we lived in the US we did several bank wires to pay for vacation rentals. Back then we had to go to the bank to have them done. There was a fee - about $35.

In the UK people do bank wires instead of writing checks. I pay the plumber, electrician and others like this. I can do them online with no fee.

The apartment looks great and those are good booking terms. A full refund up to 60 days ahead is good.
Thank you Pauline! I've sent a request to the owner so hopefully it all works out. Our dear friend Cristina has offered to help out with bank transfer. I love my travel friends!! (I will send her the money via PayPal and she will send bank transfer to the owner. It will save me a little bit of money and possibly a headache, LOL). Cristina also says the location of the apartment is very nice. :):D

Thank you! Once I was in contact with the owner and reserved the apartment she told me that I don't need to pay a deposit. Only if a client stays more than 8 nights does she require deposit.

You never know I guess until you contact directly the owners :D